The Feel of New Year’s Day Writing

There is a story I have always wanted to write. Actually, truth be told, I don’t know what that story is, but I do know the ‘feel’ of it. I know the texture and the pace of it. I know how it might linger. The first day of January, every year, tends to bring about the general feel of this story. I’ve written it in several ways, though it’s never the same story. You see, I’m just exploring the ‘feel’ of it, not the story itself. Today, this first day of January, is no different.

It is beautiful when words come together. When I drive and I think of the story that has been playing itself through me for years (the story I don’t yet know, the characters I haven’t yet met), I don’t approach that story in the usual way. I don’t think of a character’s name or a scene or a possible ending or a beginning: I think of the ‘fabric’ of the piece. That ‘fabric’ is snow and ice. That’s the only way to describe it.

The snow and ice of this place, this space, this story that runs through me, is not the physical snow and ice of a scene (although there is likely to be snow and ice there eventually). The snow and ice is what runs through it all. If this is sounding too pretentious, I apologise! This is the way it needs to be described right now.

So, as it’s January 1st, and as it’s that time when this story finds me, every year, I write: I wrote The Ice House because it’s part of a greater whole. As with my other current writing, if it sinks into something to be loved, in the shortness of time, it will be included in the next collection. I have high hopes for it because it’s part of the ‘feel’ of something bigger, something that’s been here a long time. If it slips away, not included (which I suspect it won’t), it will embed itself in the continuing magnum that forms the greater whole that is ‘New Year’s Day writing’.

If you’re writing, do you have similar bodies of work developing? The way that others write is a story in itself.
 
 

4 thoughts on “The Feel of New Year’s Day Writing

  1. I tend to write more about a specific idea rather than a feeling, but I have written a few stories trying to put a feeling into words and I had no idea what they were going to be about or how they would end. It was a strange sensation.

    • joelseath says:

      Thanks for taking the time to feed back. I’ve read some of your stories (good stuff, by the way) and yes, ideas can spin the thoughts on, of course. Trying to write this feeling, as you comment, can be a strange experience: for one, sometimes a lack of solidity to hold onto can be disconcerting. Well, I feel this way at least. It’s the sense that such works are part of something though, whilst being unique in themselves, that fascinates me. Not knowing where you’re going with a story, as you write, can be odd; it can also open up all sorts of avenues, don’t you find?

      • I agree. It’s almost as if you are trying to follow a fading vapor and you have to spend all your energy on spotting it that you can’t begin to think of where it will lead. It can be fun or scary or both!

      • joelseath says:

        Writing the feeling out can be like following that vapour: yes, good way of putting it. Sometimes trying to find the end of a piece is, by extension of the metaphor, like trying to catch smoke. The piece (the ‘story’) just disperses. This is fine, though not a traditionally structured story. It’s the journey of this sort of writing that’s important though, I think.

Tell me something . . .

