About a Baby

I’d like to share a small moment with you. Do you know the moment when you hold your newborn baby? (You’re forewarned that this post could get a little sentimental). There he or she is, just beautiful. This morning my newborn baby arrived. I almost missed the delivery. The door had been knocked several times and there was a van outside. I wasn’t expecting delivery for another week, but this was it. This was the day. The man held out the small brown package and asked me to sign.

Here she was (I’ll call her ‘she’ because I need to call her something). Here was my book. The delivery of any book is special enough, but this was the delivery of my book. I took my time. I hoped she’d be perfectly formed, everything in the right place. She was wrapped up and I couldn’t see. These vanities we writers have can be excused on the day our books arrive. All that time and love in the making, we can indulge in just a few minutes for ourselves: our newborn, tiny in our hands, should be perfect.

I can honestly say I felt some trepidation. What if she was bruised or not well bound, or misprinted? On the first count, she’d come all the way from South Carolina: had they wrapped her well? On the second count, I’d entrusted her to people I didn’t know, and had they treated her with the love I’d sent the digital her to them with? On the third count, what if she was misaligned or if I’d neglected some small detail because of tiredness and there were tiny errors buried in her pages?

It took me some minutes to take the cardboard from her. Then I saw her, and how beautiful my baby is. I indulge myself now too because we owe ourselves this as writers. How beautiful my baby is. I held her with such care. I read deeply into her pages, looking for those imperfections. She’s in place, though I see two slight things, like tiny birth marks, I want to smooth away. They’re not typos or mistakes, so all is well, I suppose: my baby is still my baby.

I put her down, now, because she’s born and so she grows. Her future brothers and sisters also need my love.

DaOS Physical Print (Front)DaOS Physical Print (Back)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Available from: www.joelseath.wordpress.com/bookshop

Please handle with love and care.
 
 

4 thoughts on “About a Baby

  1. charliebritten says:

    Well done, Joel! Enjoy the moment. I thought you were writing about a real baby for a moment!

    • joelseath says:

      Thanks, Charlie. Yes, the moment is enjoyed, and there will be more. About the comment about the baby: I take that as a compliment on the writing in the post too! 🙂 I was also interested to see on a news report earlier today (the 200th anniversary of the publication of Pride and Prejudice, apparently) that Jane Austen refers to her book as a child too, though I forget the exact quote.

Tell me something . . .

